Tags

, ,

A girl can never know too many beauty hacks. These little tips will save you time, money and effort..What’s not to love?! I did a beauty hacks post a little while ago now and although I still use those tips, there are so many more that I’ve been implementing into my routine. I’m always on the hunt for new beauty tricks and love sharing any hacks that I’ve found particularly useful. Here are my favourites right now!

1- Cut your nail polish drying time

This hack has to be one of my holy grail tips! When your polish is semi dry, I’m often fooled into thinking I’m OK to go about my day but all too often when I look down at my nails they are dented, cracked or chipped. The phrase “The only time a woman is helpless is when her nail polish is drying”, is definitely true! To ensure the perfect manicure, when your nails are semi dry, run them under cold water, as cold as you can stand. This will harden the polish super quickly and will cut your drying time down significantly.

2- Save your mascara

Buy some cheap and cheerful contact lense solution and apply a few drops to dried out mascara. Give your mascara a shake and I promise this will resurrect your mascara and will maximise its longevity, saving you money and a trip down to Boots.

3- A cold shower

Another cold water related tip! After you have finished washing your hair in the shower, run cold water over your locks. This will seal the hair follicles that will have been opened up from warm water and help smooth frizz prone hair.

4- Vaseline!

Whoever said diamonds are a girls best friend clearly never had a dog or used Vaseline. This amazing product should be in every woman’s bathroom cabinet as it can be used for so many different beauty purposes. My personal favourite uses are applying it to my eyebrows, knees and elbows before self tanning to stop the product clinging to these dry areas, using it to soothe unsightly excema prone areas for quick relief, conditioning my eyelashes and smoothing back baby hairs along my hair line.

5- Brows!

I only ever pluck my uni-brow, apart from that I leave my brows to do their own thing, which I’m sure I will be glad of when I’m older. Over plucking brows is a cardinal beauty sin (unless you want to totally redefine the way your brows sit on your face, which drag makeup favours) but because of my lack of plucking, my brows can get a little bit untamed at times. When they are looking a little more unruly than usual, I apply a stick primer, such as Benefit’s 15 Hour Primer, lightly over my brow. This will set them in place all day and I can still apply my brow products over the top.

If you are after an ombre Instagram brow, the easiest way to achieve this with a naturally full brow is to only apply product to the outer third of the brow. By only structuring the tail, a natural but still defined brow can be achieved, with a gradient fade towards the inner corner of the brow.

6- A long lasting tan

As a fake tan addict, I have tried and tested so many products. Once I have a full body tan, I want to make it last as long as possible. After around 3 days, I usually find my tan starts to fade and go patchy. To avoid this, use a gradual tanning moisturiser at the point when your tan starts to fade. Not only will this moisturise your skin, keeping it soft and smooth (dry skin will shed fake tan quicker) but will also add a hint of self tan to help keep it even. My favourite is from Palmers.

7- Shake it up!

Something too many of us forget is to shake up our liquid products, specifically foundation. These guys can split and separate very quickly, meaning you don’t have an even mix of product and this will effect the finish and performance of your makeup. Before every foundation application, make sure you always take a few seconds to shake up your foundation.

What are your favourite beauty hacks!?

If you enjoyed this please like, comment and subscribe to Girl About Town