Tags

, ,

If there’s one thing I love, it’s discovering someone else’s beauty obsessions. I haven’t done a monthly favourites post in some time and I definitely feel I need to share what products I have been lusting over in the month of September.

Colour correcting has been a favourite beauty trend for me this month. I’ve recently started suffering a lot more with dark circles under my eyes that won’t budge, no matter how heavy duty my base is. Because of that, I started experimenting with colour to counteract the blue, purple tones under my eyes rather than just concealing. This is a much more effective way of dealing with pigmentation issues as layering foundation only masks the problem rather than correct it.

This palette from MUA is a great place to start with colour correcting- it’s affordable, the colour tones aren’t too scary and it’s so easy to use. I personally reach for the orange tone and blend using my finger under my eyes. The green colour is also great for redness.

IMG_7720

MUA Pro Base Prime & Conceal Palette, £4.00

I absolutely adore baked blushes. Long gone are the days of one colour per pan, now we have the choice of using blush with multiple underones and colour selections. This one from Max Factor particularly caught my eye. Plum tones are flatting on all skintones and this baked blush gives a slight healthy sheen to the cheeks.

IMG_7721

Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Lavish Mauve, £8.99

This makeup item will be a staple in my collection for the rest of time. In my eyes this foundation can do no wrong. I recently fell back in love with this product that I discovered at the star of the year and I haven’t been able to put it down during the last month.

As a woman with oily skin, I used to always be on a mission to find a foundation that was full coverage, mattifying and long lasting but didn’t look caked up or unnatural. This foundation does all of the above and more.

I absolutely adore it. Although I was advised against using such a full coverage foundation by numerous shop assistants, I was adamant I wanted to try it. You will need a dense brush to work this product into the skin- a beauty blender type product won’t be able to distribute out this dense formula. On lighter makeup days, I will just use this as a concealer or mix it with my moisturiser for a lighter application.

IMG_7715

Estee Lauder Double Wear Maximum Cover, £30.00

I am a highlighter floozy. Although I’m promiscuous with all of my makeup as I can’t resist trying the latest products, I am particularly smutty with my highlighters. I’m always looking out for a new beauty item to make my skin glow.

This eyeshadow from Kiko is a delicate champagne shade and as you can see from the pan, it’s well loved and with good reason! I dust this along top of my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose and on my brow bone for a subtle sheen. It’s super blendable and so pretty on the skin.

IMG_7717

Kiko Infinity Eyshadow, Pearly Light Gold, £2.80

Another colour correcting item I have been obsessed with is this CC crayon from Max Factor. Although this product is described as a “dark spot corrector”, using it under eyes and layering it with foundation totally eliminates any blue tones. This doesn’t crease and blends seamlessly with foundation, creating a neutral canvas for makeup.

IMG_7716

Max Factor Colour Corrector Sticks, £8.99

Although I never normally splurge on mascara, I’ve heard so many amazing reviews of the Dior Show, I had no choice but to try it. Although not volumising, this super lengthening marcara doesn’t clump at all and is an opaque, solid black tone. The wand is full and bushy, making even application over the lashes easier than ever before.

IMG_7718

Dior Show Mascara, £24.50

I have always been a tanaholic, but as a pastey girl I find it hard to maintain. To keep myself looking naturally bronzed I apply a thin layer of this moisturiser all over my body. I then wake up looking brown but super natural.

However, because of the orange undertones in this I find I can’t reapply this on a daily basis because you will start to glow a neon shade! I’m also not a fan of cocoa butter, but if you like that scent you will adore the smell of this product.

IMG_7719

Palmers Naturally Bronze,£3.69

Those were my favourite beauty items this month, all of which I would suggest you purchase, especially as most of them were super affordable. What’s been your best budget beauty buy for September?

If you enjoyed this please like, comment and subscribe to Girl About Town