Tags

, ,

Lots of people choose to shy away from wearing glitter makeup. Shimmer products have never been more wearable for people of all ages, it’s really a question of knowing what glitter product is wearable for you and where to apply it. I opted for a sparkly champagne coloured glitter shadow that looks subtle but still striking and can be worn universally.

To start with, I applied my sellotape as always, angled from the bottom of my lower lash line diagonally up to my brow bone to deliver a sharp and crisp eye shadow line. I always apply the tape to the back of my hand first and peel it off before applying it to the delicate eye area, to remove some of the stickiness that can cause you to pull or tug on your eye.

Next, I primed my eyes using MAC’s Paintpot in Painterly to neautralise the natural redness in my eyes. Then I blended Sombre from Kat Von D’s Shade and Light Palette  across my brow bone to create definition in the socket. I then layered Shadowplay over the top of Sombre, concentrating on the outside corner to create a strong transitional shade over my eye. You can use any matte brown eye shadow or bronzer for this step.

IMG_7516IMG_7517

Next comes the glitter! Today I’m using the Infinity Plus Sparkle Eyeshadow from Kiko in the shade 400 Gold. Unlike using loose pigments that can get messy and fall out onto your face makeup during the day, the glitter in eye shadows is packed in much tighter and is less likely to drop out. In any case, I always apply my eye shadow before my face makeup so I can clean this up.

I applied this shadow on the inner half of my eye lid and down to the inner corner of my lash line. I then sprayed my flat top brush with a makeup setting spray and then applied more eye shadow and packed on the product to intensify the gold. You can really make this as subtle or as bold as you want. With a pencil brush I then took a medium brown eye shadow and blended this along the crease of my eye so there is no harsh divide from where the gold starts.

IMG_7518IMG_7519

To finish off the eyes for now, I smudged kohl liner along the outer third of my lash line. I didn’t want to detract from the glitter by using a solid black liner across the whole of my eye. Smudging liner along the outer third gives definition but does not take away from the glitter shadow.

After removing the tape I then applied my Smashbox Primer as always, then layered Max Factor’s CC Pencil in a triangle under my eyes. I mentioned this product in my September favourite’s post if you want more of a detailed look into this stick, but I love it for brightening up my under eye area.

IMG_7522

The foundation I’m using is another September favourite product, my Estee Lauder Maximum Cover Foundation. It’s super high coverage and mattifying but still gives a natural healthy glow to the skin.

I then went in and highlighted my face using MAC’s Prep + Prime pen in Light Boost before blending this out with a damp beauty blender and powdering my face using the Shade and Light palette.

IMG_7520IMG_7521

To start pulling this look together, I filled in my eyebrows using a fine, angled brush and MAC’s Fluidline Brow Gel Cream in Deep Dark Brunette. Although I do this free hand, I do sometimes clean up my brows with concealer. I then started to contour and carve out my cheekbones, using the Shade and Light Palette again in the colour Subconscious on the top of my cheekbones, along my jaw bone, over my temples, down the side of my nose and on my chin.

IMG_7524

Moving on from that, I then blended the contouring out with a fluffy, angled brush and baked my contour using loose face powder along the bottom of my jaw. This tidies up any wayward blending of your contour, mattifies the face and adds a contrasting colour to your contour, making it look even more defined.

IMG_7525IMG_7526

To complete this look I then applied MAC’s Soft and Gentle Highlighter along the bridge of my nose, the top of my cheekbones, over my temples and along my brow bone. On my lips I went for a nude because I am obsessed with a natural looking pout at the moment so I’m wearing Limecrime’s Babette lipstick with Stripdown liner from MAC.

Lashes are optional, however I do feel that when you have a striking eye look, lashes are always a good move to compliment the eye. I’ve also applied my contouring shade on my lash line for a less harsh alternative to kohl liner for a smoked out look.

IMG_7527 IMG_7528

What are your favourite glitter products?

If you enjoyed this please like, comment and subscribe to Girl About Town